Coincidence

Like any usual school day two weeks ago, I was at the school to fetch my eldest son, Rinaldo. On the way to the exit gate, we bumped into his classmate. They said goodbyes to each other and I asked what his name was.

Rinaldo

Rinaldo & Spiderman Kurt at Wiz Child Kindergarten School, October 2008

He said, “Kurt.”

This boy looked so familiar, I thought to myself. Rinaldo then told me Kurt was his classmate at Wiz Child Kindergarten School.

“Kurt? Now I remember you!” I blurted out. “I remember you and Rinaldo wearing Spiderman costume!”

Rinaldo and Kurt were classmates three years ago. After one year at Wiz Child Kindergarten School, Rinaldo was transferred to PACE Academy and studied there for two years. This year, who would have thought that a former classmate would be his classmate once again. According to Kurt’s nanny, like Rinaldo, they are also new transferees.

Earlier today at Xavier School, while waiting for Rinaldo, I was talking to two other people – a grandmother and a father. Somehow, our conversation drifted to Boracay. I told them I lived in that island for five years and worked as a scuba diving instructor. We talked about how much the island has changed. Spotting my son, I excused myself and went over to fetch him.

As I approached him, he showed me his broken ID strap. Kneeling down, I told my son to keep the ID in his pocket so he doesn’t lose it. Standing beside him is another kid. So I asked if they were classmates. They both said no.

The boy’s mother was looking at me. Finally, she asks if I had met her before. Seriously, I had a hard time remembering.

“What is your name?” She asks.

I told her my name, and then she said, “I met you in Boracay 13 years ago!”

I asked her what her name is. Once she told me, I remembered. She is a Korean who used to work as a tour guide in Boracay. I have a lot of Korean friends then. She was one of them.

Talk about coincidence. It doesn’t happen everyday, but when it does, it brings a smile to my face.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by ROBERT LEE on August 2, 2012 - 4:40 pm

    Imaginary Friend,

    There’s your proof that coincidence can bring a smile… you ended your comment with one!

  2. #2 by Imaginary Friend on August 2, 2012 - 4:36 pm

    You know what they say – maliit ang mundo. I have enough stories to prove it. Hahaha.

    • #3 by ROBERT LEE on August 23, 2012 - 12:10 am

      Imaginary Friend,

      Could you share some?

Leave a Reply

