True Friends

I remember those days when I was in primary school. My group of friends included more than twenty people. We see each other daily in school, and go our own ways during school breaks. Of more than twenty friends, some remain my good friends until today. I am proud to say that at the age of 43, I have good friends whom I have known for nearly 40 years!

Friendship is not something one seeks. It occurs when we meet people and find common activities to engage in, and topics to talk about. Friends can be classmates, and the sons and daughters of our parent’s friends. Friends can also be the people we work with, the people we work for, and even the occasional stranger we meet such us during travel or when we hang out in bars or coffee shops.

As the years went by, I learned to differentiate friends from acquaintances. More than a decade ago, my friend, Judy, said: We don’t need a lot of friends. We only need true friends, even if it’s just one person.

I went on to live my life, and experienced being abandoned by people I knew and trusted. I began to see some so-called friends in their many forms and manifestations. Some were around because they like my company and the good times we shared. However, take away the good times, they’re gone. Some were around because they needed me. Without that need, they’re gone. Some were around because I listen when they vent and provide counsel when asked. Without their problems, they’re gone. Through it all, some remained by my side.

Today, this small group of people is either my good friends, or family. I trust that my good friends will be there to listen to me, and in their capacity, help me when I need their help. In my own ways, I would do the same.

There is a select group of people who belong to my inner circle. These people are family to me, as I am to them. We would be there for each other, and if need be, go out of our ways to help each other. These are the people who truly matter. Their family is my family, as mine is theirs.

True friends care deeply. True friends listen and understand. True friends help. True friends are loyal to each other and will be there for each other, even during the bad times.

Do you know who your true friends are? Today, I proudly say I do.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by rqkvihinareadd1986 on September 18, 2012 - 4:21 pm

    Reblogged this on Lindsay Coleman Site.

  2. #2 by Maria Arlina Tiangco-Jabines on August 13, 2012 - 10:28 am

    Boyfriend (ends)… girlfriend (ends)… but with friendship… this should last like our family. Like a ship, it has the ability to float and weather the storm. With strong anchor (love, trust, understanding and respect), this kind of relationship will survive. Thanks for sharing.

    • #3 by ROBERT LEE on August 23, 2012 - 12:08 am

      Maria Arlina Tiangco-Jabines,

      Let me do some math. I have friends I’ve known for nearly 40 years and have been married for nearly 10 years.

      In 30 years, my wife and I, if we are still together, would match that 40 years. It’s just that I would have been friends with my buddies for 70 years.

  3. #4 by Imaginary Friend on August 2, 2012 - 4:57 pm

    Even the older ones need to be more aware about it, too. I don’t think it’s about age, but more about experience.

    • #5 by ROBERT LEE on August 2, 2012 - 7:35 pm

      Imaginary Friend,

      Experience is the best teacher.🙂

  4. #6 by Imaginary Friend on August 2, 2012 - 4:33 pm

    I am proud to say, I do. I’ve been through enough challenges in my life to filter out those “fair-weather friends” or those who seek you out as long as you have some use to them but drop you the minute they’ve exhausted their needs from you.

    I don’t use the term ‘friend’ lightly. Not anymore. The rest, I’ll just call them acquaintances. 😉

    • #7 by ROBERT LEE on August 2, 2012 - 4:37 pm

      Imaginary Friend,

      I hope younger people realize this. I know young people who put too much value in friendship, and then gets stabbed in the back. Only then do they learn. I was once like that too.

  1. Choose One: Honest Asshole or Kind Liar? « Daddy Lee 1969
  2. Being Selfless and Being Vulnerable in Friendship « Daddy Lee 1969
  3. It's the quality of the family and friends you have « One Lifetime
  4. It's the quality of the family and friends you have | Barbier Family Blog

Leave a Reply

