Venting or Sharing?

A few days ago, I made a post titled People Around Us. Blogger Nadirah Angail of Love… Explained left a comment and I quote, “I believe challenges and disappointments in life must be ‘storied’ in a way that is empowering.” That got me to thinking. What had I been doing lately? Each time I open my mouth, each time I post a new article, or each time I update my status on Facebook, am I venting or sharing?

I have had my share of ups and downs. Even as I go through yet another phase in my life, there is no reason not to think more will come my way. Be it happiness or sorrow, like anyone, I talk about things that happened to me.

I might have witnessed something extraordinary. I could feel wronged by some people. I might have lost someone I care for. I could feel bad for countless reasons. At some point in time, I have to talk to someone. If talking is not enough, or worse, there is no one to talk to, I could post a status update for the world to see. Since I’m blogging, I could write about it too.

Rinaldo & Renzo

Rinaldo & Renzo at the Mind Museum

As many reasons as there could be for me to feel down, there are also reasons why I should feel happy. By thinking positively, I see the blessings that come my way. Using negativity as a motivation, I strive to reach my goals. When I see my children, I am inspired not only to reach my goals, but also to surpass it.

Yet, when negativity was around me, and it’s still there in one form or another, reaching my goals may, at times, feel like impossible. Nadirah Angail said, “The people around would help you excel or hold you back.” She couldn’t have said it better. I totally agree.

When I was down, some people around me dug up my grave. What success I have, there is always a reason why it’s not good enough, be it directly or indirectly. How did I respond? I had perceptual narrowing. I made wrong decisions under pressure. I kept things to myself. I was depressed.

Somehow, someway, I managed to crawl out of my grave. I am back and instead of focusing on negativity, I am doing things I should have done. Face the reality, eliminate the issues that affected me, and continue to work on reaching my goals.

Nowadays, I find myself sharing some of my experiences, not because I am venting. I am sharing because I want people to learn from my experience. One thing I do know about venting is that it helps temporarily, yet it doesn’t resolve the cause.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Cafe on August 7, 2012 - 4:30 am

    One thing I love about blogging is that it enables people to share those experiences where others can learn from, be inspired by to change or reflect on their own situation. So I’m totally with you on that. Great post!

    • #2 by ROBERT LEE on August 23, 2012 - 12:11 am

      Cafe,

      Thank you for dropping by. Have you posted on your Korea trip?

      • #3 by Cafe on August 23, 2012 - 7:19 am

        Hey, Robert! No, my MacBook won’t turn on so I gotta wait til it’s fixed and I have access to my pics😦 But I put up a post on something else exciting!🙂
        Thanks for asking, by the way!

      • #4 by ROBERT LEE on August 23, 2012 - 8:05 am

        Cafe,

        Hope it gets fixed real soon, otherwise, Apple sells yet another MacBook! Already it is the most valuable company in the world. Hahaha! I will be visiting your blog soon.

  2. #5 by N. Angail on August 4, 2012 - 9:37 am

    Wow, so glad I could inspire something in you! Thanks for the mention. I agree with you wholeheartedly. “By thinking positively, I see the blessings that come my way. Using negativity as a motivation, I strive to reach my goals. When I see my children, I am inspired not only to reach my goals, but also to surpass it.” <—That's the way to happiness, bro.

    • #6 by ROBERT LEE on August 4, 2012 - 12:21 pm

      N. Angail,

      Glad you came back. If you did again, you will see that I have started adding photos on nearly all posts I have made so far.

      Thanks for the positive reinforcements.

Leave a Reply

