When Tragedy Stops Us and Makes Us Think

A bullet train collides with another, killing scores of people. A man dies in the hospital bed. A desperate man committed a crime and was sent to prison. What does it matter? We see far more tragic news everyday on the news.

China Bullet Train Collision

I was on that very same train several weeks before the accident

As the Libyan unrest continue to dominate the world headlines, a bullet train in China collided with another. The thing is, not too long before, I was on that same train. If I had never been on that same train, I would have ignored this news.

More than 20 years ago, I accompanied my father to the hospital to see his friend. He was lying on the hospital bed. We saw the doctor remove the oxygen hose, after having informed his family that his time had come. He was still breathing. As the time in between breaths increased, I thought this is how death could come so easily. I watched silently until my father’s friend stopped breathing. I watched him die.

Recently, I learned of a former friend, who was sent to prison. Why? Because of hardship, and perhaps the lack of marbles in his head, he resorted to committing a crime. He was caught, and he is paying for it now. Everyday, crimes are committed, and people are sent to jail. Because this is a person whom I knew, it got me to thinking. The person who brought me this news, he said: “Things like this, it makes us think that life is not easy.” He is right.

A few days ago, I was with my brother-in-law. We were having a good conversation as our kids ran around his warehouse, having fun. Someone cold him, and he suddenly became deflated. He was told that a close friend of his had kidney failure.

One after the other, event after event, ran through my mind as I write this. I recall telling my brother-in-law: “It makes you think, doesn’t it? While we are having a good time, someone we know is going through a crisis. Then again, people who know us, while they are going on with their happy lives, we were going through our personal problems, and they have no idea.”

My intention with this post is very simple.

Who wants trouble? Who wants problems? Unless it was by a natural calamity, we should be thankful for what we have. If we take a moment to reflect and examine the issues we are dealing with, I suspect, many of us will find most issues we are dealing with were made by us.

One thing though, to be fair to ourselves, many other issues were caused by the people around us. We just have to look at the bright side of things and work towards resolving them. Against seemingly insurmountable odds, I embedded a video that should serve as an inspiration.

I would love to hear from you. Please leave your comments below.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

